Gift Of Giving

This life is short. We’ve been granted with a set amount of time, an amount of time that seems to go faster with each passing day. We use so much of it by working, to make that money.We want to provide the ones we care about with nice things. We want to drive the coolest cars, and have the most fashionable clothes. We desire the most amazing “material” things.  But money and objects don’t buy us love, nor do they provide us with comfort. In the end every thing breaks, or rusts, or gets stolen away. No, the best use of your time is to give it to those you love.

Sure it is great to have money. I’m not saying that you need to be in the poorhouse. There is nothing wrong with having nice things. What is wrong is when you place the love of money and nice things above those you care about. Not only will they suffer, but so will you. You will miss out on all the things that make life worth living! You’ll miss out on all of their accomplishments. When they need someone to talk to, they won’t be able to reach you. When they need a hug, you won’t be there. When they need someone to lift them up, you won’t be there to help them. When they want to love you, you will be emotionally unavailable. They will spend their whole life looking for your love, but never receive it. Eventually they may look for it elsewhere, leaving you to wonder what you did wrong.

So many families end this way. Your husband or wife feels rejected. Your kids feel unloved. Your parents feel unappreciated. When you do need them they don’t make the time for you. Why? Because you never took the time to make time for them, so why give theirs to you?

When I am on my deathbed looking back on my life, I don’t want its highlights to be the job position I obtained, or the cars that I drove, or the homes that I owned. I want the highlights to be of the good times I spent with the loved ones in my life. I want them to be the moments that were shared. All the simple things, like nights spent cuddling and watching a movie, days spent out and about, my child’s first word and their first step. I don’t want to miss out on these precious treasures! I most certainly don’t want to rob myself or anyone I love of these moments. I want to be remembered for being giving, caring, and loving. I want the ones I love to remember all the times spent together, not all the times missed from working long hours. This life is all I have, and I don’t want to miss a thing. Don’t take the time you have for granted! Start spending it where it matters now!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

