For My Ex

I wrote this poem a couple of years ago after I broke up with my boyfriend. I think many people struggle with the meaning of love. I certainly struggled with it and recently I realised I’m only starting to know what love is and I’ll probably be figuring out what love is for the rest of my life. Out of all the relationships that I’ve been in, the ones where I’ve told them that I love them without understanding it or meaning it, the one where I said it too early for the sake of the other person and the one where I never said it at all and I thought I should have. After I found out and studied what love is, I realised I have only loved one guy, I meant it and he knew it.
I hope you enjoy it :)

The way we move is something like a musical
The way we speak is so surreal
The way we feel is like I’ve never felt before
But I’ve got something to tell you don’t be afraid to feel it too
boy I fell in love with you

It’s something deeper than just a fling
It’s something more than the words I sing
I found someone to share this moment
And I found someone to share this feeling
I got something on my mind
Boy you better realise
That I fell in love with you
And I’m not afraid to tell you

We shared a moment with just our eyes
We shared a minute with just a smile
It took a while for me to see
Something about you caught me

There’s something sweeter than just a kiss
There’s something more than to physicalness
because it’s something to do with our hearts
It’s something to do with who we are

We opened up in just a few weeks
We shared things we use to keep in
It’s something to do with our hearts
And I know you felt it too
But boy I really loved you

We’re people from opposite sides
We’re people with different lives
We couldn’t face the test of time
I know we could’ve made it work
But I’m not that hypocrite

How do I explain this feeling?
How do I erase this smile?
It took a while for me to see
You’re not the one for me
And you better realise
I’ve got to get you out of my mind
Because I’m moving on with my life…

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

