People Change

There are times that everyone screws up, and if you keep holding on to that, then you will forever be screwed over because you have to learn how to forgive people. Forgiving people is always hard to do because they may have really hurt you badly, and you don’t want to have to forgive them. Trust me, things have happened in my life and I have found it so incredibly difficult to forgive the people because I was so hurt.

Everyone changes, at one point or another at their life, they will change. Looking back at this past year of high school and this summer, I have changed a lot. I have done some things that I’m not proud of, things that have made me feel gross, and its hard to talk about with other people because you don’t know if they will judge you or not. Also, it is hard to think about those things because you can still be pretty pissed off at yourself about it, but you have to remember that everyone screws up, and no matter how hard you try, you aren’t ever going to be perfect. Ever. Once you accept that, then you will realize that you’ve got to forgive yourself for fucking up every once and a while.

Have you ever looked at someone and said “I remember when _____ used to be so / like _________.” ? Or had those times where someone does something extreme and you are shocked because you never would have expected them to do that. I have many times. It’s hard to accept that people who used to be so cool and close to you can change and become someone that you don’t even recognize. That is the absolute worst part of growing up: people changing.

My point is: even though people may have pissed you off, broken your trust, or done other stupid shit; it doesn’t mean that you have to hold it against them forever. Once you learn to forgive them you will realize how good it feels to have broken down that barrier between you and them. I know what you may be thinking, what are you talking about? You are such a judgemental person yourself, how can you preach this shit without believing it?Well the truth is, I judge people when I meet them, I put them in a category in my mind, but the thing is: it is so freaking easy for me to change my mind about them. They just have to make me see that they aren’t what I think they are and I will change my perspective on them.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “People Change

  1. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

Leave a Reply

