Don’t Be Weak

What is it with people who rant about how unhappy they are about their relationships, their jobs or whatever situation they are in right now? I sometimes dread seeing the names of particular people in my Facebook news feed because I know it will be another rant about their sucky job, or another so-called emo “quote” that the whole world knows is directed to her boyfriend. You must wonder why I don’t block these people’s posts from appearing in my news feed. Well honestly, their depression and their unique chosen outlet – yeah Facebook – fascinate me, make me think and make me write.

If only I could tell these people that there are some things they are doing wrong – which I can’t because who wants to be given advice they did not ask for? No one. Well, here’s a blog then for all you unhappy, unsatisfied, discontented people out there who consistently brag about your unhappiness when you are apparently settling. I hope this could help you in some way.

No.1 Do Not Settle. Repeat. Do Not Settle.

Happiness should be your main personal goal. If you’re not happy, stop complaining and do something about it. The problem with unhappy people is they tend to settle with whatever they have at the moment and try to see the good in it..even how little it is. They are scared of being alone or of taking risks to try and turnaround their situations and would rather settle.

If you are not 100% happy about a relationship you’re in, if you feel like you’re being taken for granted, if your partner is cheating on you or is too jealous, too controlling, too short-fused then WALK AWAY. Relationships should be enriching both ways and if it’s not bringing out the best in you or making you a better person then it only means it’s not the right one for you. Know that. Accept that. Really, at your age, you should be taking control of your life. Do not be scared of ditching your partner and being alone for a while. Being alone and stress-free is better than being with someone and being half of the person you are meant to be.

Likewise, if you are not happy with your job, go look for a better one. Believe me, there is ALWAYS something better out there. Don’t forget that your job takes up a chunk of your time, with you devoting to it at least 8 hours a day, at least 5 days a week. If you are unhappy with your job then you are unhappy at least 8 hours a day, at least 5 days a week too. How stressful can that be? I’m already stressed just thinking about it. Wouldn’t it be priceless to just be happy, stress-free and fulfilled 24 hours a day? It is feasible, take it from me. I had the most unhappy job before, having the worst relationship with a former boss in a very stressful work environment and I was settling until (thank God I hit my head) I told myself I am no longer going to take such crap. It triggered me to look for an ideal job, not even settling for the mediocre offers that came along the way. I was tired of having an OK job. I swore the next one was going to be the best one. And tadaaa! Now it is. I wake up everyday excited to work. I love what I do and get the utmost fulfillment out of it. The key is for you to be proactive and be driven. Don’t be scared of taking calculated risks. You are in control of your career and your life.

Do not settle because it is your right to be happy and it is what the One up there wills for you.

No.2 Stop Telling the World You’re Unhappy. Just Stop.

You know, The Secret is quite popular right now and for all of you who aren’t familiar with it, read the book or watch the video. Your thoughts are powerful and they play a vital role in how your future will unravel. The reason why unhappy people remain unhappy is because they always think about how unhappy they are. Likewise, people who are happy stay that way because they think happy thoughts. You see, the Universe will give you everything and anything you want but it will always base what you want on your thoughts. You should be quite careful also with how you structure your thoughts and make sure it remains positive. The Universe will only hear your base thought and it cannot distinguish whether it’s positive or negative. For example, if what’s always on your mind is “I don’t want my sucky job” – the Universe will only hear sucky job and that’s what you’ll keep on getting. Convert your thought into a positive one like “I want the perfect job” and that’s what you’re going to get.

So for all those who keep on ranting on Facebook or wherever that you hate your job, your boyfriend takes you for granted, traffic is so bad that you’re late again or you hate terrorism or hate all the haters…my gosh, look at all the negativity you’re creating for yourself and for  the world.

When you hear people telling you to stay positive, think happy thoughts, it’s all in the mind – do not take those for granted. Your life is what you think of it to be. Tell yourself and the whole world the positive things that you want to happen to you. That will be a good start.

I know, I know…it’s all easier said than done but hey I’ve been unhappy too. I’ve been unhappy in relationships, career, finances…name it, I’ve been unhappy about it but I did something about it and so can you.

High five!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

