Bitches!!

 

After my post on different dating theories I still couldn’t shake the idea that women view dating so differently. It then got me thinking about how some women are so competitive when it comes to dating. It’s all….”I’m dating 5 guys at the moment and it’s becoming so difficult, who should I choose when they are all so great” or “I am dating this fireman and he tells me how beautiful I am every hour”.  Who the fuck cares! I understand with men that there is something biological that makes them contend with each other but now women too?

I think competition among friends happens subconsciously, I know I am guilty of it, especially when it comes to sex, which is not hard as I am pretty sure I am the kinkiest and smuttiest among my girlfriends but compared to others out there I would probably come off very charlotte. Why do we do this to each other? Are we that insecure in our lives that we need to bring each other down, or are we just reminding ourselves that we are great. Do we need validation for our choices from each other?

Which brings me back to the comparisons girls make on each other. God we can be bitches sometimes.  I have a friend who is a successful woman who is extending herself for the sake of multi dating. I have to admit, I judged her as she was driving herself to sickness with spending every night either working late or dating. For some reason I thought she was meeting so many new men just to keep up with me and my tallying number. But I was wrong; she was doing it because she was ready to meet someone who deserved her.

I felt awful and really shouldn’t have been so quick to judge. It was like comparing gymnastics to shotput (yes, I have been watching the London Olympics). I would hate it if I knew someone was comparing me to how they would date, when they had no idea what my back story is and what I am trying to win. We should be supporting our each other in winning a gold medal (love) or even for just participating in the race that is finding that special someone.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bitches!!

  1. briebennett says:

    Great point–competing with each other never gets anyone very far!

  2. marie celis says:

    Hmm… I would disagree with briebennett to some extent. Read on the evolution of competition. I value the evolution of competition and the evolution of cooperation in equality.
    Competition gives rise to stronger voices and brings out the fire in everyone.

    As far as competing with other girls go… well let’s just say there’s a reason that I’m mostly friends with gay men and straight men. And I’ve barely (if at all) competed with 2 of the real girl friends I’ve ever had… at least, not that I’m aware of.

    The thing is, there’s such a negative connotation to being a bitch. Some dude grabbed my breast in a club before and I pushed him hard – apparently, that makes me a bitch. So, having said that, it’s not so bad to be a bitch after all… just gotta know when to pull out that card.

Leave a Reply

