I Got These Scars

My heart keeps looking for parts of you in everyone else…

Trying to feel whole again…

Your bed smells like the last thing I was really good at…

You want to know how I got these scars???

I swallowed my pride and it clawed its way out of my mouth…

If I could I would tie your arms to a daydream and then auction you off to my fondest memories…

See I wrote this poem on the backbone of a white flag so before you read it you’ll already know that I’ve given up…

You cracked hour glass with sand spilling from behind your ribs, you wasted my time…

How dare you linger on my lips and then kiss me like a stuttering apology with excuses stapled to the roof of your mouth…

I still remember you like a dream tattooed to the inner walls of a long term memory but some days I wonder if you existed at all…

You want to know how I got these scars???

I’ll tell you… I got these scars the day I fell in love with you…

I landed face first…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

