Don’t Be Blind

I suggest everyone reading this to read The Help by Katheryn Stokett. I read that book over the summer and I just watched the movie tonight and it reminded me of one of this world’s problems about racism. I cannot stand when people are racist or say bad things about people who are “different” from us. I have never thought of myself as a racist person and I am probably the only person in my family who does not appreciate it when others make racist jokes or comments about any other culture. Now, I’m not trying to sound all high and mighty or anything, but it really pisses me off when people do that and just laugh it off.

Just like everyone else, I always wish I was born in a different era. Personally, I would have loved, absolutely LOVED, to have lived during the 1960′s because I absolutely loved their style, I loved how guys had to get off their lazy butts and go to a girls house and ask her out, and I loved how guys would actually write letters. I like to imagine that if I lived back then, I would have stuck up for the African American people and I would have made a difference in someone’s life. Who knows if I would actually have done that, but I like to think that I would do that.

Thinking about that really makes me think: in a decade or two, who is going to look back on our time and say If I were alive then, I would have hung out with _________. or If I were alive back then, I would have stuck up for the _____ and made a difference in their life. Who knows, but I think it is a good idea to open our eyes and look around at who isn’t being appreciated or cared for like they should and do something about it. I know when I die I want to be remembered as someone who made a difference in peoples lives and actually cared about them. This is one thing that I really want to do and I don’t think I will give up on or ignore it out of procrastination.

Remember: it is the little things that matter, if you think someone looks beautiful one day, SAY SO. You don’t know if they struggled to get out of bed that morning. Or if someone is looking glum, say hi and give them a smile. You don’t know if they just found out that a loved one died or got diagnosed with cancer. You just don’t know what is going on in people’s lives, so go out and be the difference you wish to see in the world. I think Gandhi said something like that. “Be the difference you wish to see in the world.” That is something that everyone should live by, and never stop smiling. A smile is something that is understood even with a language barrier. Also, smiles just make you feel better and people can HEAR it in your voice when you smile. Try it out.

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Don’t Be Blind

  1. wise words. It is a great book 🙂

Leave a Reply

