Grass is Greener

Who says that the grass is greener on the other side? Only if you wouldn’t be blind enough to miss out on true beauty and radiance; you would have realized long ago that the other side is just a reflection of what we have in our mind.

And my mind only carries the vast and intricate network of memories that I have formed around myself. Memories that please me, memories that bring tears in my eyes, memories that bind me and memories that make me jump high in the sky. But then one would ask as to why do I need memories when I live them every single day? I will answer this question only at the end of this prose when I have nothing left to say.

Every story starts at the beginning with a friendship. A friendship that is subtle and a friendship that eventually grows. Soon the boy and the girl get closer; and friends become lovers. But our story starts with a crush that came my way. A crush that I ignored and a crush that was somehow bound to stay. As she tried to move closer, I drifted away even further. Soon I lost sight of her affection and any sign of love that she might have carried in those eyes. But this wasn’t the end; because the end is never so simple and it is definitely not this sudden!

In less than two years, I found myself in a new wide world, where people were no longer mine and every face had a new shine. I trudged along for a month until we met again. And so began the friendship which has been growing since then. Today three years since that day I still am amazed by our bond; not that it was unlikely; but just by the extent to which it has survived. I am proud of the turn of events and a lot that has gone by within those years; because she still has a crush on me, just that now I am all ears! That’s our story and of course I have skipped over the sad and sorry parts. But who needs to know that when the present is happier than the past!

But all through these years, I never looked back and I don’t regret it. Cause things may not have been the same, had it not been for our will to ignore the past. But today I look back because it will all be different from here on. Our lives will be stronger and soon the differences will be gone. The past will be forgotten and no one will ever ask. So I take one last peek at the past and smile with all the thoughts rushing through my head. The dates, the fights, the ignoring, the breaks, the love, the fun, the bonding and the trust. I hold on to them as they flash by and hence I find myself surrounded as before. This brings me back to the only valid question. Why do I need memories when I have lived through all of it? Well I find there’s only one good way to put it. Our life will eventually run its natural course and soon the end will draw near. At that point she might be standing next to me or lying down in front of me. But with these few memories at hand, my final few minutes with her will seem like a true glimpse of life. Reflecting the years that mattered and the efforts that counted.

And even then, at that moment, the grass will seem greener on this sid

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Grass is Greener

  1. Delaine says:

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

