Be Different

So everything that doesn’t fit into some stupid idea of what people think God wants people just try to hide or fix or get rid of? It’s just all too much to live up to. No one fits in one hundred percent of the time.

One of my absolute favorite things about peopole is how they make fun of other people just because they are different. Of course, I am being sarcastic about this because I cannot stand or stomach people inflicting pain on one another because they are not part of the norm of society. As a child, I was made fun of because I was Puertorican and had a big butt and a funny accent. I was also made fun of because I was smart and did not make any effort to hide that fact. I didn’t think that I had to or was suppose to. My feelings were constantly hurt and my bullies knew that I was oversensitive (can’t help; I was born this way) and relished in making fun of me.

Thinking back on those days and watching this movie right now has made me wonder if we were all meant to be same and fit in, why did God make us all so freaking different? Why did He give other people a reason to ostracize and persecute people who are different? Why can’t we all just get along and accept others’s eccentricities and quirks?

I’ve seen people hide their true colors because they are so afraid of showing who they really are to world. They fear that rejection or that people will try to “fix” them even they aren’t actually “broken”. It is like the old adage says: “Don’t fix something that ain’t broken.” I really wish that could apply to people. I read on these websites about programs on how to make your kids “straight” when they turn out to be gay and they make me sad. There is nothing wrong with being gay in my opinion. You don’t have to agree with me if you feel otherwise. Homosexuality is not the only thing society is trying to hide or fix. Unwed mothers, goth kids, and opinionated individuals are some other people that we as society are trying to fix. The way I see it is that just let them be.

We are not all meant to be the same. We are all unique. If we are all the same, life as we know it would be boring. Can you imagine life without “radicals” and “different” people like Dr. King, Frida Kahlo or JFK? They gave us something to talk about and new ways to see the world.

I like not fitting in sometimes. I don’t always agree with what is popular and I believe that people should play devil’s advocate sometimes just to get those brain cells going. To anyone who has been made fun of in the past or feel like they are an outcast, I say: Dare to be different. Just be you and to hell with everyone else. If people want something to talk about, give them something talk about and let your true colors shine through always.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

