Unexpected Love

20130104-041704.jpg

I’ve been in a relationship for a while. About three years now.

I’ve only been in one relationship prior to this one, and it lasted on and off for about a 6 years. But I learned a lot from that one relationship. I know exactly what I want in a man now.

I want us to be friends first, and then progress to lovers. I want respect to be there before love, because ultimately with respect, comes love. Honesty is a must. Communication is a must. He has to always keep it real with me because I’ll always do the same for him. We can want each other but I don’t want us to need each other. I want him to be able to be happy without me, and not become dependent upon me for his happiness simply because I can’t guarantee that I’ll always be there to give him that.

People seem to think I’m this woman that absolutely despises men simply because I’m not seen dating a lot, and I’ll admit that that was me about three years ago, but my perspective has changed since then. I learned that it’s never okay to generalize. If you think that all men are the same, it could just mean you keep chasing the same men. There are really good ones out there. We just tend to overlook them. Chances are you’ll find him when you stop looking and allow him to come find you.

Some of the best things in life come unexpectedly, and I believe finding our true love is one of them. You’ll always get what you want as long as you know how to be patient. I also learned that the more love you give toward something, the faster it comes to you, so focus on loving men instead — the good ones— and appreciate that good man when he comes to you one day, because he will.

This is something I truly realized over the past three years. I can’t continue to believe and think he’s just like my ex. My boyfriend is nothing like him. I’ve found the good in him as he found the good in me. Even though we have our moments and days our love for each other always pulls us through. After all no one is perfect!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

