Truth

There comes a time in life
Where you realize the truth
What was hidden before,
Can now shine through
And what I’ve realized baby,
Is we’re no more
The light has dimmed,
All the pieces on the floor.
And no matter how much
I want to hold on,
I know that’s impossible
Because what we had is now gone
The love has diminished,
All words are finished
The picture is shattered,
No longer I’m flattered
What was once together,
Now falls apart
Too much has been weathered
The engine can’t start.
And no matter how much
I want to hold on,
I know that’s impossible
Because what we had is now gone
My grip on the rope
Is beginning to slip
I wish it was different
My heart starts to rip
I’ve pleaded my case
But you weren’t at my defense
All that is left
Is for me to lament–
Lament the loss of my lover,
I loved so deeply
But there comes a time in life
Where you realize the truth
What was hidden before,
Can now shine through
And what I’ve realized baby,
Is we’re no more
The light has dimmed,
All the pieces on the floor.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

