Being Accepted!!

I live a very quiet life.

I’m into reading and learning and anything that involves being creative. I love to watch movies, listen to and discover great music, have conversations with people I find interesting, travel to other cities and attend live concerts.

I’m not really that girl you can have a good time with if your idea of one is getting drunk and partying, and I won’t pretend that it is. Not trying to knock anyone that does, just saying that it’s not for me. It’s not something I have fun doing. I’m no longer scared to admit that, but I used to be because it seemed to be the thing that everyone else was doing.

But just because everyone does something, does that automatically mean that you have to do it too? This is something I told myself one day and immediately realized afterwards that I have to live for myself. I can’t wait for others to dictate the kind of person I am.

Being accepted is something I feel many of us strive for. We yearn to feel loved by everyone, even if it means sacrificing what we want for only a brief moment. Sometimes I find myself caring too much about what others think about me and really lose myself in others opinions of me, but in the moment that it happens I always try to remind myself to not care so much.

I’m comfortable with who I am, and I won’t pretend to be someone that I’m not. I try to never allow someone’s opinion of me to override my own opinion of me. It was something that I struggled with a few years ago, but now I’ve realized how threatening it can be to my own well-being .

I’ve learned many lessons in life but the one that’s most redundant is to be yourself.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

